teaching to learn, means learning to teach

I went on holidays for 2 weeks and it was a fantastic break. I know that the girls in my room worked extra hard to share their knowledge of our kids whilst I was away. It’s hard for anyone to walk into a room and truly understand the dynamics of it. But they survived. πŸ™‚ Coming back, I was greeted with hugs and excitement. It really is awesome to feel that connection with the kids, to feel like *I* belong. All those elements of EYLF that we’ve been working on, coming full circle to include us!

I also got to come back on Halloween – which I love! Any excuse to dress up! I’d been on holidays for Diwali,Β  so wanted to do something different for this dress up day.

I stayed up making paper flowers, a skill which will come in handy for Remembrance Day, and checked out the sugar skull faces from Mexico. Normally on Dress up days, I face paint the kids in all manner of superhero, fairy, animal inspired wonder. But on the 31st I had heaps of requests for sugar skulls πŸ™‚ I felt it was a wonderful direction for my class to take, and they all looked superb as they ran around.

Sharing in the many cultures of the families at my centre just became all-that-more real to me, because I was able to bring a part of my life to them. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

