teaching to learn, means learning to teach

Awash in a sea of colour

I love it when the sun shines but doesn’t make us sweat. I love seeing ideas shared between workers. I love seeing smiles on kids faces as they see us valuing their product.

Years ago the centre I was at was going through accreditation and one of the complaints she had, was that we weren’t “respecting the children’s art” enough. Her case in point was that one wall had all the children’s art mounted on different sized pieces of paper and put up in a wobbly line. As opposed to mounted identically and presented straight. Just to be clear. This is not what I am talking about. I’m thinking about how often the children will ask me to take a photo of them, their artwork, their building or a favourite toy. How this new generation recognises that photos are a keepsake, often more so than the art they take home.

I know I try to get the art we do for displays to go up straight away, to show the kids it’s theirs and it’s fantastic and it’s here. If it’s artwork to go home, I want it in their bags as soon as possible to show their families. But it’s not often we get to create the display as the children create the art. Which is why I love fence painting šŸ™‚

I still fully believe in the value of the process, the learning that comes from exploration and repeated use of new or familiar mediums. The up-scaling of skills as kids begin to form pictures or differentiate between colours, spaces and techniques.

These lovely large papers are free from any architects office, it’s printed on one side with building plans (fun for colouring in or map making) can completely blank on the other. We are lucky enough to get rolls and rolls of it from a family at the centre, but I have been known to approach nearby architects to rummage through their paper waste šŸ™‚

As the paintings are declared ‘done’ they are left on the wall to dry and be admired, owned and attached to. They create a gallery of communication in a sea of colour. They make us aware of our own abilities and open us up to ideas from our peers.

In fact, it prompted the idea that we should do this activity in the days leading up to our end of year party so that the parents have something to focus on and our children have something to show off and we have something to ‘prove our worth’ – plus it just looks really pretty šŸ™‚

Comments on: "Awash in a sea of colour" (1)

  1. Go Cathy! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the fact that Eddie gets to paint things at childcare! As inexperienced parents it hadn’t occurred to either of us that babies could have fun with paint. And, anyway – we would have been too frightened to try it on our own, in case we used the wrong sort and poisoned him or something. BUT he came home with his very first painting just in time for fathers day. And when I was expressing my gratitude and amazement to the ladies who run his room, they casually mentioned that they try to paint with the babies every day and showed me all of the art that he has up on the walls. It is hard to describe the buzz I got out of knowing that he gets to do such fun stuff – or the slight sense of sadness I felt when I realised that he is developing relationships and having experiences independently of us now. Oh, and there are also a slightly ridiculous feelings of pride (he is clearly very talented! I can tell from the way he makes patterns in the paint with his fingers).

    The moral of the story is that childcare workers who help kids do cool, creative stuff are awesome. They make the world a nicer place.

Leave a Reply

