teaching to learn, means learning to teach

Sandwich Press Snakes!

Wanting to introduce measurements to my kids as well as make a colourful and interactive display out of it, I decided to use a low wall of our room for a run of snakes. Small snakes, medium sized snakes, large snakes and one huge, ginormous snake that runs nearly 2 metres long!

Knowing that I’d have to laminate them, if I wanted to keep them in one piece, I had to think of an art style that would be a culturally relevant and colourful addition to our space. Painting was out, because it would take to long to dry in this wet weather. Pens and pencils were out because we have some fantastic displays using those mediums already. I considered collage, but skipped it once I remembered an activity my Mum used to do with us as kids. She used to grate crayons and we’d sprinkle them on paper and iron over them. I didn’t have an iron…but I did have a sandwich press šŸ™‚

 

Starting off with grating the crayons, I would have loved to get the kids to help with this part, but the grater felt too sharp and close to my fingers for me.

The children chose their own colours and sprinkled them over the top of the snakes. Originally, I’d put a run of glue on them to help the sprinkles stay put as I moved from table to sandwich press, but I found it didn’t make a great deal of difference, so soon left that step out.

We discovered that the sprinkles need to be spread thinly or else you end up with a mush of brown, rather than a pattern of colour.

As the process moved along, some children took to drawing pictures and coming over to fill those with crayon sprinkles. I really loved how they took it this step further!

Laminating was another challenge, due to the length of the snakes. I cut a slip of the joined end, out of the laminating sheets, and threaded the snakes from the bottom of the last page into the ‘neckline’ of the next page.

The kids were eager to see their snakes come out of the laminator and be cut and ready for play! I’m really looking forward to seeing how they go with naming sizes, measuring against each other and counting snakes! But for now I need to find that soft, collapsible tunnel we have somewhere, so I can sing this song!

 

I’m being eaten by a Boa Constrictor

by Shel Silverstein

Oh, I’m being eaten
By a boa constrictor,
A boa constrictor,
A boa constrictor,
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor,
And I don’t like it one bit.
Well, what do you know?
It’s nibblin’ my toe.
Oh, gee,
It’s up to my knee.
Oh my,
It’s up to my thigh.
Oh, fiddle,
It’s up to my middle.
Oh, heck,
It’s up to my neck.
Oh, dread,
It’s upmmmmmmmmmmffffffffff…

Comments on: "Sandwich Press Snakes!" (1)

  1. You’re the third person I’ve come across talking about Shel Silverstein this week. I had never heard of them before this. Bizarre. But that snakes and sandwich press idea is yet another great one!

Leave a Reply

